One Piece

Standard

I am but one piece of a faltering era,
which each day inches closer
to total collapse.
A lapse in my lineage
would account for this unbalanced state.

Floodgates break,
spilling unfair assumptions
on an unsuspecting plain.
I should readjust my frame of reference,
find new methods of social engagement,

but given my shitty placement
on the cosmic scale,
I’m bound to failure
like a train to rails.
Convictions sail blindly

through measureless space,
and I trace their movements
on the wall of my brain,
which explains practically nothing.
Practically nothing at all –

-r. miller

One thought on “One Piece

Leave a Reply

