Damage Control

Standard

Something significant broke
apart my heart’s feeble altar.
The will and the way are not
one and the same.

So I chose to blame my idiocy
on the syntax of the moment
and drafted a new set
of governing principles.

Truth at all costs seemed
outmoded at best.
An unwelcome guest sent
to upset the festivities.

My natural proclivities
were gaining strength, biding time.
All signs pointed to watch for more signs.
I had to establish well-defined

lines of demarcation.
Justification was merely
an afterthought, though
it brought me respect.

And in retrospect, that
was my sole demand. Still –
the hand that moves the world
has other things in mind…

-r. miller

Leave a Reply

