Wed to Thunder

Standard

In a handful of sloppy seconds,
we will come to fruition.

I was in charge of the mission, you know.
I was in league with the summer storm

of youth to flood the roadways
leading into town.

Up and down my arms were traces
of a nostalgia I dare not name.

Everything looked
the same after a while,

it was disappointing,
and the mountain anointed me

with its tears, steering me
towards fortitude.

In a clearing, blue and unwavering,
I savored the elegy of the rain.

It wasn’t without pain,
but it was nourishing,

and wed to all that thunder,
I could feel my skies flourishing.

-r. miller

Leave a Reply

