Personal Poem #1

Standard

It’s 3:05 AM of a Friday
and it’s the 6th of February
in the year of influenza
bloated with calamity
and nothing I say carries
any weight I’ve had 3 cups
of tea to calm my sinuses
but they’re still in an uproar
no matter what I do
I wonder if Amy is thinking about me
and more importantly if she’s
wearing any clothes
not that it does me any good
I’m at work my wrist is cramped
and I should smoke some grass
but it makes my eyes swell
like they’re plotting a prison
break so I stick with caffeine
and my blossoming headache
I’m fixed in the chair hating it
thinking about what will
become of the snow

-r. miller

Leave a Reply

