Munchies

Standard

A rattling pressure from beneath,
some variety of hunger,
but for what? I don’t begin
to comprehend nourishment,
though the finalities thereof
can be underwhelming.
I’m hoping not this time.
I’m hoping not this time.
I’m hoping to dispel
the beast in the foliage,
verduous, sweet nexus of my
thoughts! Hopping into my car,
the asphalt screaming,
I’m littering a stream of tar
and wrangling the perforations.
Guy behind me must think
I’m driving like an asshole,
but at least from in here,
he can’t see my face.
I wish I could just
sit somewhere
and drink coffee
and smoke cigarettes
and read.

-r. miller

3 thoughts on “Munchies

  1. Sounds like the last few lines would be a perfect day for me. You mean you can’t smoke cigarettes and drink coffee and read in your bed? That’s what I did yesterday. It was a good day…

Leave a Reply

